# MINUTES OF USS IWO JIMA ASSOCIATION'S THIRD MEETING

### 6 September 2002

#### HOLIDAY INN, EVERETT, WASHINGTON

The meeting was called to order at 0900 by President Phil Hawkins. Invocation was given by Reverend Richard Smith, followed by the reciting of the Pledge of Allegiance.

A motion to dispense with the reading of the minutes of the last annual meeting was made and seconded. The minutes were approved as written.

President's Report: President Phil Hawkins stated that the Executive Committee had no formal meetings this past year. The Committee was mostly concerned with the preparation of the proposed change to the articles of incorporation and proposed bylaws to replace the association constitution. He also addressed the problem we are having locating former crewmembers and getting the word out about our association and convincing them to join.

Treasurer's Report: Lee Pepper explained in detail how he is structuring our financial records. He discussed the ramifications of the association's approval of Tax Exempt Status, and gave some examples of how it can be used to the associations advantage.

Secretary's Report: No report

Audit Committee Report: Lee Pepper reported on the results of an audit conducted on 5 September 2002. During the audit, it was noted that more attention to detail concerning check writing needed to be implemented, otherwise all was in order.

## OLD BUSINESS

Other than the Tax Exempt Status addressed in the Treasurer's Report, there was no old business.

### NEW BUSINESS

Dick Beckstead made a motion to approve the proposed amendment to the Articles of Incorporation that allows only dues paying members to vote and hold elective offices in the Association. Motion was seconded by George Agrecy. Motion was unanimously approved by the members.

Richard Smith made a motion to approve the proposed USS Iwo Jima Association Bylaws to replace the Association Constitution. Motion was seconded by Eugene Rhinehart. Lee Pepper moved to amend Article 1, Definitions, Section 1 – Association by removing "(7)" from "Section 501C(7) of the Internal Revenue Code." The members voted to approve the amendment. The motion as amended was voted on and unanimously carried.

Dick Beckstead moved to approve the recommendations of the Nominating Committee for seven members for the Board of Directors as follows: George M. Agrecy, three-year term; Robert Francis, three-year term; Phil Hawkins, two-year term; Jerry Hubbell, two-year term; Michael S. O'Hearn, two-year term; G. Lee Pepper, one year term; Bob Sorensen, one year term. Bob Haldeman seconded the motion. There were no nominations from the floor. Motion passed unanimously.

Reverend Richard Smith gave the benediction.

Eugene Rhinehart made a motion to adjourn which was seconded by Lee Pepper.

President Phil Hawkins ajourned the annual meeting.

/s/ George M. Agrecy Acting Secretary